Learning to Cook

Last year I developed a fascination for cooking and baking. After scrolling through many foodie Instagram accounts that made me drool (literally) and watching YouTube chefs, I thought it would be cool to replicate their delicious meals.

Full disclaimer: I am a beginner chef whose very average at best.

My family lives off take out and restaurant dining. Don’t get me wrong, eating out is yummy and we are fortunate to have my grandpa cook dinner for us on some days. But when I eat out of a plastic container more frequently than from a piping hot plate of homemade goodness, there’s a small void in my stomach. Appreciating a meal that is made with love tastes better psychologically than any instant Chinese takeout could accomplish.

Screen Shot 2016-02-14 at 7.49.15 PM.png

As a result, I started a personal Instagram account (Alli Cooks) to document all my cooking adventures! It’s fun learning to cook different dishes and my family has been 100% supportive of this (I think they’re getting sick of take out, finally!). This Instagram is a great way to track my progress. If you would like to check it out, here’s the link:

https://www.instagram.com/allicooks/

The Good vs. The Bad

Screen Shot 2016-02-14 at 7.49.30 PM

Screen Shot 2016-02-14 at 7.49.37 PM
Whoops!

My favourite repeat dishes so far are the oyako don, Thai curry and sushi. Any suggestions as to what I should make next? 

 

 

Leave a Reply

